No Apology

We are living in a time when people are walking away from churches and finding God “in my own space”. The traditional Churches are thinning out as people, apparently frustrated with the traditions of established faiths, search for and follow the latest mega-church that uses modern technology and a dose of psychology to draw people in. There are, too, those who find God where they may and ignore the principles of faith by which they were raised. As a result, there seems to be a current effort among traditional Churches to make known the principles by which they were formed. Some would call this, “Apologetics”.

            As a high school senior my religion class was, as I recall, entitled, “Apologetics – Ten Defenses for the Catholic Faith.” I did then and continue to complain that it is neither appropriate nor wise to apologize for my faith. Those “in the know”, however, only smile and tell me that the title is simply taken from the Greek word “Apologia” which means “defense.” Somehow that explanation has never satisfied my concern.

            It’s not that I don’t believe my Roman Catholic faith to be the true path to salvation. I DO believe that to be true. But, is it the only path? As a matter of fact, is Christianity the only path?

            I am not a theologian. I am in no position to properly defend the official  beliefs of my Church. I do, however, firmly believe that there are elements within the Church’s belief system that make me feel closer to God. Mainly, when I look up to see the priest holding the host and repeating Jesus’s words, “This is my body . . .” – “This is the cup of my blood . . .” I believe that I am in the presence of the living God. When I participate in Holy Communion I am receiving the living flesh of Jesus Christ. He said, “This is my body” and since I believe and follow Jesus, I believe what He said to be true.

            That having been said, there are some other things I believe:

  1. There is both good and evil in this world.
  2. God is good.
  3. Evil is the work of the devil.
  4. A good God will not abandon “good people.”
  5. Even in supposed unfound pagan tribes there is a natural goodness.
  6. The path anyone chooses to God is simply a path – a journey.
  7. There is a heaven and a hell.
  8. “Good” people who believe in God and try to follow His commands will be rewarded in heaven.
  9. Those who choose the “evil” path will end up in hell,
  10. We all know what is “good” and what is “evil”.

            I am aware that I have a responsibility to God to live my faith based upon the teachings of Jesus Christ, not just in what I say I believe, but in everything I do. Many years ago I entered the seminary intent on becoming a missionary. Though I did not follow that vocation, even today I am influenced by something the founder of the Missionary Society of St. Columban told his fellow priests in China. “We did not come to convert China, but to do God’s will, and we don’t know 24 hours ahead what that plan is.”

Leave a comment