Dear Fellow Christian

Dear Fellow Christian,

          If ever there was a time to open our eyes regarding the life and death of Jesus, the Christ, it is this week. Two thousand years ago, a man – son of God and son of Mary – suffered and died an ignominious death so that we might live forever in heaven.

          As Christians, on Christmas Day we celebrate the birth of Jesus, our Savior, and welcome him into this crazy world where we live. On Easter Sunday we celebrate his rising from the dead and opening the gates of heaven. But, this week – Holy Week – is no celebration. This is a time to call to mind his betrayal by a presumed follower, his trial by leaders threatened by his teachings, the scourging and crowning of thorns by those who considered him a fraud and his death on the cross by those who didn’t understand.

          This week is an opportunity to reflect on the times we have betrayed him, questioned his authority, failed to follow his way, and participated in the actions he came to forgive. We are living in a world filled with violence. It is a world that seems to have stopped all methods of true communicating with each other. We have stalled in our efforts to understand another’s point of view and seem to be stuck on our own individual right to carry on life the way we want in spite of the needs and desires of others.

          I would like to think that I rise above such feelings and actions. But, this is a week when I need to admit my own failures and weakness. Have I, a Christian, ever been unfaithful as a follower of Jesus? Have I failed to defend or even live according to his teachings? Have I failed to follow his example of kindness and care for others? Have I rejected him when put to the test of public judgement? Have I rejected him in the privacy of my own existence?

          This week, of any week, is a time for me to ask for and welcome his forgiveness. This week, of any week, I should show by words and action that I truly believe in him. As he accepted and cared for the people around him, I also must prove my faith by the way I accept, care for and show my love for all.

          God forgive me for the times I have not.

                                                                   Sincerely,

                                                                             Rick………..

1 thought on “Dear Fellow Christian

Leave a comment